I am from the west coast of Canada, play water sports, and have lived in England for a school year... you would think I would be able to handle the rain and wet. In Vancouver I can hop into my car when it is rainy out, here I have no choice but to get on my bike and battle the rain.
In my first week here during orientation they told us we should all purchase a full body rain suit, I am pretty sure I laughed at that. Well I am not laughing now... the full body rain suit makes sense when you have to get to class and their is a thunder and lightening storm on. From now on I will be very thankful when I get to be in a warm heated car when it is monsooning outside with scary thunder and lightening after those few days of going to class and looking like I had had a shower on my way there.
Perhaps it was the storms that triggered my next few unlucky events.
I would rather say that a car backing up didn't see me or I was avoiding a little kitten but the reason for my bad bike crash was because I was going too fast, hit a bump, lost control and slammed onto the ground.. it was all me and the force of gravity. My friends say I am actually pretty lucky I didn't break anything from how bruised I became. I am lucky that Arthur was there to carry me back as I would have had a very difficult time getting back to get help by myself. A week later my ankle, knee and side of body is still multicoloured. My eye is much better, the side of my face still has a strange yellow tint from the bruise but the black eye is basically gone. I have what appears to be a small lightening bolt gash on my eyebrow and the headaches ares till very much there but not as bad as they were. A bit of a sour experience being so beaten up but again, I am very lucky I did not do more damage. Been checked out by a doctor at the hospital and just want to add that it was as if all the doctors in the hospital were male and between the ages of 27-35... giving dr. mcdreamy a run for his money- I may have been seeing things because I hit my head but don't think so... So I am fine! just need a couple weeks to heal my ankle and get rid of the headaches.
After all the drama of the bike crash I had bad news that my bike was stolen. I think I am more upset about my bike being stolen after the incident. I loved that bike but it was only a bike. I have bike 2.0 now and although it was not a pretty as my last one it will get a makeover!
So had my true dutch experience now and will be more cautious on my bike!
Had a shower on my way to class... fully clothed.

No comments:
Post a Comment